Queensland forward Josh McGuire has capped off an outstanding season by winning the Maroons’ most prestigious award – the Ron McAuliffe Medal.

Fresh from playing a strong role in the Kangaroos’ World Cup triumph, McGuire was presented with the Queensland accolade at the Maroons’ Christmas get together at Tangalooma Island.

The Broncos enforcer played lock in all three games for the Maroons, with his robust work in the middle of the field a key plank in Queensland’s 2-1 series victory.

Players’ player awards were also presented on Monday evening, with dual recipients in two of the three games.

Cooper Cronk and Dane Gagai shared the spoils in Game I, while Storm duo Cameron Munster and Cameron Smith couldn’t be separated following their Game III masterclass.

Dylan Napa was the players’ player in Queensland’s come-from-behind Game II victory.

Ron McAuliffe Medal: Josh McGuire (Maroons’ Player of the Series)

Players’ Player

  • Game I: Cooper Cronk / Dane Gagai
  • Game II: Dylan Napa
  • Game III: Cameron Munster / Cameron Smith

Comments are closed.