TOWNSVILLE, AUSTRALIA - JUNE 09: (L-R) Brian To'o of the Blues, Jerome Luai of the Blues and Nathan Cleary of the Blues pose after winning game one of the 2021 State of Origin series between the New South Wales Blues and the Queensland Maroons at Queensland Country Bank Stadium on June 09, 2021 in Townsville, Australia. (Photo by Mark Kolbe/Getty Images)

New South Wales Blues coach Brad Fittler has confirmed his team for the opening game of the 2022 State of Origin series against the Queensland Maroons, to be played at Accor Stadium in Homebush on Wednesday, June 8.

The Blues' biggest calls have come in the decision to drop winger Josh Addo-Carr, and middle forward Jake Trbojevic.

That has allowed for Daniel Tupou to return to the team on the wing for the first time since the 2020 series that New South Wales lost in shock fashion to a team dubbed as "the worst Queensland team ever", while the Blues have gone in a new direction in the forward pack.

RELATED: View the Queensland team for Origin 1 here

Fittler also faced a major headache in the centres, with both the incumbents Tom Trbojevic and Latrell Mitchell to miss out with injury.

While Mitchell is a chance to regain his spot in Game 2 following a likely Round 15 NRL return, he will have to overthrow one of Kotoni Staggs or Jack Wighton, with Stephen Crichton surprisingly selected to come from the bench when the team was confirmed on Monday. All of Staggs, Wighton and Crichton have edged out Campbell graham and Matt Burton for positions in the squad.

The back seven is completed with James Tedesco, Nathan Cleary and Jarome Luai, with the latter two to once again form the halves combination after a start to the season which has seen Penrith win 11 from 12.

Damien Cook has meanwhile fended off a challenge from Penrith hooker Apisai Koroisau to round out the spine at hooker, while Isaah Yeo has been selected at lock.

Payne Haas and Junior Paulo will once again start in the front row, while Cameron Murray has overcome injury to start in the second row.

Tariq Sims has also held onto his starting position in the second row, with Tyson Frizell on the reserves list when team positions were locked in on Monday morning.

NSW Blues team for State of Origin 1

1. James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters)
2. Daniel Tupou (Sydney Roosters)
3. Kotoni Staggs (Brisbane Broncos)
4. Jack Wighton (Canberra Raiders)
5. Brian To'o (Penrith Panthers)
6. Jarome Luai (Penrith Panthers)
7. Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers)
8. Payne Haas (Brisbane Broncos)
9. Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
10. Junior Paulo (Parramatta Eels)
11. Cameron Murray (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
12. Tariq Sims (St George Illawarra Dragons)
13. Isaah Yeo (Penrith Panthers)

14. Stephen Crichton (Penrith Panthers)
15. Liam Martin (Penrith Panthers)
16. Reagan Campbell-Gillard (Parramatta Eels)
17. Ryan Matterson (Parramatta Eels)

18. Nicho Hynes (Cronulla Sharks)
19. Tyson Frizell (Newcastle Knights)
20. Jacob Saifiti (Newcastle Knights)
21. Joseph Suaalii (Sydney Roosters)
22. Apisai Koroisau (Penrith Panthers)