The Canberra Raiders have reportedly rejected a release request put forward by hooker Zac Woolford to join another NRL team.

This isn't the first time Woolford has been rumoured to be leaving the Raiders, as he was previously permitted by the club to explore his options at other teams in September.

It also coincides with reports that the hooker has fallen down the pecking order in favour of Danny Levi and Tom Starling ahead of this season, despite starting in 21 games for the club last season in first grade.

The 27-year-old began his first-grade career later than most after debuting in Round 10 in 2022 but has since become a mainstay of the starting team.

As reported by The Sydney Morning Herald, the St George Illawarra Dragons attempted to sign Woolford immediately, but the Canberra Raiders rejected the move, denying to issue his release request.

A club official at the Raiders confirmed this after they were asked about the rumour by The Herald.

The potential move to the Dragons would see him provide them with a one-two punch with Jacob Liddle as they look to expand their dummy-half options, especially considering Kyle Flanagan will move into the halves after the de-registration of Talatau Amone.

Shane Flanagan's side has three spots remaining on their Top 30 roster for next season, with Liddle as the only primary hooker in the squad.

Full squad

Corey AllanTalatau AmoneJack BirdRyan CouchmanToby CouchmanJack de BelinTom EisenhuthMathew FeagaiMax FeagaiViliami FifitaSione FinauKyle FlanaganBen HuntJaiyden HuntBlake LawrieJacob LiddleZac LomaxFrancis MoloMichael MoloBen Murdoch-MasilaZane MusgroveMikaele RavalawaDan RussellHame SeleTyrell SloanJaydn Su'AMoses SuliSavelio TamaleAlec TuitavakePaul Turner

Best 17 and full squad
1. Tyrell Sloan
2. Mikaele Ravalawa
3. Zac Lomax
4. Moses Suli
5. Max Feagai
6. Kyle Flanagan
7. Ben Hunt
8. Blake Lawrie
9. Jacob Liddle
10. Francis Molo
11. Jaydn Su'A
12. Jack Bird
13. Jack de Belin

14. Hame Sele
15. Viliami Fifita
16. Michael Molo
17. Toby Couchman

18. Ryan Couchman
19. Paul Turner
20. Alec Tuitavake
21. Savelio Tamale
22. Corey Allan
23. Mathew Feagai
24. Ben Murdoch-Masila
25. Tom Eisenhuth
26. Dan Russell
27. Sione Finau
28. No player signed
29. No player signed
30. No player signed

Roster spots open: 3

2024 Development List

1. Connor Muhleisen
2. Corey Ackers
3. Dylan Egan
4. Hamish Stewart
5. Jackson Shereb
6. Josh Coric