SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - OCTOBER 04: Rory Kostjasyn of the Cowboys celebrates victory during the 2015 NRL Grand Final match between the Brisbane Broncos and the North Queensland Cowboys at ANZ Stadium on October 4, 2015 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Mark Kolbe/Getty Images)

The Newcastle Knights is pleased to announce the signing of Rory Kostjasyn, who joins the Club on a 2-year contract.

Kostjasyn grew up on the Central Coast but joined the Melbourne Storm in 2010, where he made his NRL debut and played 32 games.

Kostjasyn moved to the North Queensland Cowboys in 2013, playing 93 matches and winning a premiership in 2015.

The 29-year-old plays at hooker, lock and also in the halves.

“I’m looking forward to getting to the Club and seeing all of the young guys tear in and improve on what they’ve built this year,” Kostjasyn said.

“It’s an exciting time and there’s going to be some hard work.

“It’s been seven years since I’ve lived close to family and friends, so I’m looking forward to coming back.”

Coach Nathan Brown has singled out Kostjasyn’s experience and leadership as great gains for the Club.

“We are pleased we can bring Rory back to the region after a number of years away,” he said.

“He is a natural football player who knows how to prepare and knows how to win.

“Rory joins the Club after playing in two successful systems at the Storm and Cowboys.

“He will provide strong leadership and be able to educate our young side.”

Kostjasyn officially joins the Club when pre-season commences on November 1.

Knights 2023 Player Movements

2023 Gains
Adam Elliott (Canberra Raiders, 2025), Tyson Gamble (Brisbane Broncos, 2024), Jackson Hastings (Wests Tigers, 2025), Jack Hetherington (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, 2025), Greg Marzhew (Gold Coast Titans, 2025), Lachlan Miller (Cronulla Sharks, 2025), Toni Tupouniua (2024)
2023 Losses
Mitch Barnett (New Zealand Warriors), Jake Clifford (Hull FC), Tex Hoy (Hull FC), David Klemmer (Wests Tigers), Edrick Lee (The Dolphins), Anthony Milford (The Dolphins), Jirah Momoisea (Parramatta Eels), Chris Randall (Gold Coast Titans), Pasami Saulo (Canberra Raiders), Sauaso Sue (Hull Kingston Rovers)
Mat Croker (2024), Phoenix Crossland (2024), Kalyn Ponga (2027), Simi Sasagi (2024), Leo Thompson (2025)
Off Contract 2023
Adam Clune, Lachlan Fitzgibbon, Tyson Frizell, Bailey Hodgson, Hymel Hunt, Jack Johns, Brodie Jones, Kurt Mann, Miles Martin, Kobe Rugless, Tavita Toloi, Enari Tuala, Chris Vea'ila, Dominic Young

The 2023 NRL Season is just around the corner and the Zero Tackle Season Guide is back! Get everything you need, from team lists, fixtures, statistics and a profile on every single player in the competition in our 2023 NRL Season Guide. Available now!

Comments are closed.