TOWNSVILLE, AUSTRALIA - JULY 27: Luke Kelly of the Eels runs the ball during the round 20 NRL match between the North Queensland Cowboys and the the Parramatta Eels at 1300SMILES Stadium on July 27, 2015 in Townsville, Australia. (Photo by Ian Hitchcock/Getty Images)

The South Sydney Rabbitohs have re-signed back rower Jack Gosiewski until at least the end of the 2017 season. The Rabbitohs have also added experienced half Luke Kelly to their roster, with Kelly signing on for the 2017 season.

Gosiewski, 22, made his NRL debut in the round ten victory over the Parramatta Eels and went on to play five first grade matches in 2016.

The Rabbitohs under 20s graduate will be working towards cementing a spot in South Sydney’s top 17 in 2017.

Kelly, 27, has played a total of 47 NRL matches during stints with the Melbourne Storm and the Parramatta Eels, having made his NRL debut for the Storm in 2009. In that same season he was captain of the premiership-winning under 20s Storm team and he was named man-of-the-match in the Grand Final against the Tigers.

Rabbitohs Head Coach Michael Maguire says he’s very pleased to see Gosiewski staying in the red and green, and to be bringing in a player like Kelly to the squad.

“Jack worked very hard to earn his first grade debut this year and we’re looking forward to helping him with his progress,” said Coach Maguire.

“I’ve worked with Luke during my time in Melbourne, as has Greg Inglis and Robbie Rochow, so I know what his work ethic and drive to compete is like.

“Luke can play five-eighth or halfback and his addition to the squad, as well as the retention of Hymel and Jack, adds to the depth in our playing group as we prepare for the 2017 season.”

Rabbitohs 2023 Player Movements

2023 Gains
Jye Gray (2024), Tyrone Munro (2025)
2023 Losses
Mark Nicholls (The Dolphins)
Off Contract 2022
Michael Chee-Kam, Lachlan Gale, Dean Hawkins, Richie Kennar, Josh Mansour, Steven Marsters, Taane Milne, Jaxson Paulo, Isaiah Tass

Comments are closed.