SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER 18: Braith Anasta of the Roosters dives over to score a try during the second NRL semi final match between the Sydney Roosters and the Penrith Panthers at the Sydney Football Stadium on September 18, 2010 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Mark Kolbe/Getty Images)

Here at Zero Tackle, we decided to look at each NRL club and create a ‘Team of the Decade’ for each side.

These teams necessarily aren’t just the ‘best’ players over the 10 year period, there are also some fan favourites and long term veterans for the clubs.

Take a look at who’s made our clubs’ ‘Team of the Decade’, and see if any of your favourites have been included.


Brisbane Broncos

  1. Darius Boyd
  2. Jharal Yow Yew
  3. Justin Hodges
  4. James Roberts
  5. Corey Oates
  6. Darren Lockyer
  7. Ben Hunt
  8. Ben Hannant
  9. Andrew McCullough
  10. Corey Parker
  11. Matt Gillett
  12. Sam Thaiday
  13. Josh McGuire

Being the first club established in Queensland, the Brisbane Broncos have a proud and rich history, which includes creating some of the games best players.

Darren Lockyer was the first person considered for this list, either or at fullback or five-eighth, but it’s hard to ignore all that Darius Boyd has accomplished for the club at fullback.

Broncos veterans Justin Hodges and Sam Thaiday have shown their loyalty to the Bronx over the years, becoming legends of the game.

The sensation of Jharal Yow Yew put bums on seats with his electric style of play, with James Roberts now taking over with his blistering speed.

BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA – SEPTEMBER 17: Darren Lockyer of the Broncos in attack during the NRL second semi final match between the Brisbane Broncos and the St George Illawarra Dragons at Suncorp Stadium on September 17, 2011 in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by Jonathan Wood/Getty Images)


  1. I had to laugh at the Dragons list for 7, 8 & 9. I think this was meant to be a joke. Obviously little thought about Dragons fans or teams over the past 10. Josh McCrone the worst 7 they could find. Dan Hunt (should never had been in 1st grade), Mitch Rein..cough cough.
    How about include a choice of Beau Scott, Nathan Fien, Jeremy Smith, Ben Hornby, Nev Costigan or even the much maligned Sowie or no-named Jarrod Saffy instead of those 3. The rest I could live with.

      • Yeah, agree. WTF. No Hornby or even Soward who would make a lot of teams HB which is what he was even if he wore the 6. Great player. Dont care what anybody says.

  2. Crocker and Auva’a for Souths? that’s a Joke.
    I would have Cody Walker in front of Keary by a mile.
    This is a 17 man game for the past 20 years so why only pick 13?
    Rabbitohs Best:
    01 G Inglis
    02 N Merritt
    03 B Goodwin
    04 B Champion
    05 A Johnston
    06 C Walker
    07 A Reynolds
    08 T Burgess
    09 I Luke
    10 R Asotasi
    11 J Sutton (c)
    12 B Te’o
    13 S Burgess
    14 D Cook
    15 J Clark
    16 D Taylor
    17 G Burgess

  3. It’s a pretty good list but there are a few nitpicky errors.
    Ben Pomeroy was a much better Sharks player than Matthew Wright.
    Steve Matai was really good in the early parts of the decade, much better than Dylan Walker.
    James Segeyaro almost took Penrith to a Grand Final, and I got the feeling that Peter Wallace probably would have been more effective if he played his whole Penrith career there.
    Andrew Everingham, Beau Champion and Dylan Farrell all were better than Kirisome Auva’a at South Sydney.
    Ben Hornby captained St George to a premiership, not Josh McCrone.
    Jeremy Smith and Paul Vaughan done more in what little time they played at St George than Dan Hunt.
    Roger Tuivasa-Sheck provided much more spark than Sam Perrett ever did for the Roosters.
    Roger Tuivasa-Sheck has lost form at the Warriors. He left his best at the Roosters. Kevin Locke was better.
    Dene Halatau left for the Bulldogs for 5 years and came back out of form, but Liam Fulton was always the Tigers’ most passionate performer.

  4. No Dugan at Canberra? Surely Ben Barba at Sharks for FB?
    no Lafranchi for Titans? No Israel Folau for Melb?
    and No Matai, M.Robertson, Glenn Stewart? for Manly?
    TONY WILLIAMS AS PROP? a) you’re kidding yourself b) over players like Perry? Kite? or even Taupau?
    and lol at Josh McCrone for the Dragons.

  5. Tony Williams and George Rose for Manly WTF..No Glen Stewart, Stevie Matai or Brent Kite…who judged this crap?

  6. Walker ahead of Matai? WTF! Walker has done nothing.

    Buhrer ahead of Trex in the back row? WTF

    Rose and Trex ahead of Taupau and Kite? WTF

    • Kite was a dual premiership and Clive Churchill Medalist. They picked Tony Willams who didn’t even play prop. Convinced the author is either trolling or braindead

      • Correct on both counts. I know I’ll cop it for this but this is what you get when women write articles on league. Seriously the selections in this article are so bad and poorly researched the author should be sacked and ZT should just delete the article off of the website.

  7. I’m no expert on the 15 other NRL clubs, but as a passionate Titans fan I can tell you whoever wrote this article couldn’t have picked a worse Titans team. You put Will Zillman, one of our worst ever players, over Preston Campbell, a player who just last week had a stand named in his honour at the Titans home ground. Matt White over Luke Bailey? Aiden Sezer over Matt Rogers? McQueen over Laffranchi and/or Minichiello? Peats over Nathan Friend?

Comments are closed.