GOLD COAST, AUSTRALIA - JULY 30: James Tedesco of the Tigers runs the ball during the round 21 NRL match between the Gold Coast Titans and the Wests Tigers at Cbus Super Stadium on July 30, 2017 in Gold Coast, Australia. (Photo by Chris Hyde/Getty Images)

James Tedesco has won the prestigious RLPA Players’ Champion awarded to the most outstanding Player of the Year as voted by his NRL peers.

The RLPA Awards began in 2004 to recognise excellence both on and off the field.

Awards are presented annually in a range of categories with this year also including the first-ever Players’ Dream Team.

2017 RLPA Award Winners

The Players’ Champion
James Tedesco (Wests Tigers)

The Players’ 13 Dream Team

  1. James Tedesco (Wests Tigers)
  2. Jordan Rapana (Canberra Raiders)
  3. Konrad Hurrell (Gold Coast Titans)
  4. Dane Gagai (Newcastle Knights)
  5. David Nofoaluma (Wests Tigers)
  6. Gareth Widdop (St. George Illawarra)
  7. Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers)
  8. Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers)
  9. Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)
  10. David Klemmer (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
  11. Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland Cowboys)
  12. Wade Graham (Cronulla Sharks)
  13. Sam Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
SEE ALSO:  Ferguson meets with Knights

Rookie of the Year
Nick Cotric (Canberra Raiders)

Dennis Tutty Award
James Maloney (Cronulla Sharks)

Australian Representative Player
Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm/Australia/Queensland)

New Zealand Representative Player
Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland)

Rest of the World Representative Player
Josh Hodgson (England)

Australian Representative Women’s Player of the Year
Simaima Taufa (Australian Jillaroos)

New Zealand Representative Women’s Player of the Year
Sarina Fiso (New Zealand Kiwi Ferns)

NYC Player of the Year
Harry Grant (Melbourne Storm)

Origin Greats Inductee
Brett Morris

The ‘300 Club’
Cooper Cronk, Chris Heighington, Luke Lewis, Paul Gallen, Ryan Hoffman

RLPA / NRL Wellbeing and Education Awards

Indigenous Leadership & Excellence
Ryan James (Gold Coast Titans)

Pasifika Leadership & Excellence
Adam Blair (Brisbane Broncos)

SEE ALSO:  Bird undergoes surgery

NRL Academic Player of the Year
Tim Mannah (Parramatta Eels)

NYC Academic Player of the Year
Billy Magoulias (Cronulla Sharks)

NRL Academic Team of the Year
Tom Opacic (Brisbane), Chad Townsend (Sharks), Damien Cook (Rabbitohs), Jacob Host (Dragons), John Asiata (Cowboys), Christian Welch (Storm), Anthony Don (Titans), Tim Mannah (Eels), Jamie Buhrer (Knights), Ava Seumanufagai (Wests Tigers), Tom Trbojevic (Sea Eagles), Luke Keary (Roosters), Michael Lichaa (Bulldogs)

NYC Academic Team of the Year
Billy Magoulias (Sharks), Blake Manowski (Rabbitohs), Dane Aukafolau (Eels), Eiden Ackland (Warriors), Harry Grant (Storm), Joseph Ratuvakacereivalu (Roosters), Joseph Tramontana (Bulldogs), Liam Martin (Panthers), Mitchell Dunn (Cowboys), Patrick Carrigan (Broncos), Royce Tout (Wests Tigers), Stuart Mason (Dragons), Tyrone Roberts-Davis (Titans)


  1. good to see Konrad Hurrell is recognized. He does a lot of work on and off the field for the club, and all the kids love him

  2. Players Champion = Tedesco … across 16 teams with 25 or so players on each team roster, and the players vote for a player in a team that finished 2nd last on the ladder. All one can say to that is there are are a lot of losers in the NRL … or maybe this award is about something else – 9 of the players picked for ‘Team of the Year’ are not playing in the finals. It seems a bit like schools these days where everyone gets a gong for just competing.

    How come Taumalolo gets nominated as a 2nd rower when he played lock all year? Anybody associated with the selecting of this team of players do a dis-service to the NRL and all the players involved.

    • Agreed, woods is the biggest skirt to play in the front row since Jason ryles. And the dogs moved James Graham for this guy? Thanks guys. And they’re paying half his salary. Thanks again.

      Konrad Hurrell and wade Graham? For reels? I can think of half a dozen guys in their position that should picked ahead of those two wasters.

Comments are closed.